The Chinese Microcirculation Society

The Chinese Microcirculation Society is a national level scientific organization representing the collaborative research efforts in microcirculation among basic and applied clinical study groups, advanced biomedical technology groups, and Chinese medical pharmacology groups. The society aims to unite and serve microcriculation personnel and clinicians, promote the study in microcirculation disorder, understand the mechanism of tumor development and circulation, enhance medical diagnostic procedures, encourage interdisciplinary information exchange, advance research standards, improve delivery of publica health care and disseminate the importance of microcirculation to the general population, participate in international microcirculation meetings and collaborate with international groups in all aspects of microcirculation research.

Under the leadership of Prof. Rui-Juan Xiu and together with 40 prominent scientists, the Chinese Microcirculation Society (CSM) was established in August 1993 after a series of approvals by the China Association for Science and Technology, National Committee for Science and Technology, and was registered as a national first rank association by Ministry of Civil Affairs of the People's Republic of China. In the inauguration meeting in Tai'An in October 1993, the 60 members committee elected Prof. Rui-Juan Xiu, Council member of International Liaison Committee for Microcirculation, Chairman of Asian Union for Microcirculation, Vice President of Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences and Peking Union Medical College, Director of the Institute of Microcirculation, Director of National Key Laboratory of Microcirculation, as the President of the Society. In the same year, the CMS joined the International Liaison Committee for Microcirculation and Asian Union for Microcirculation. The CMS possesses around 3000 members which consist of clinic doctors and basic science researchers from all over China.

Between 1994 and 2005, the CMS held a meeting every two years to disburse and share advances in microcirculation research, and to promote the cooperation and integration in multidisciplinary clinical areas. CMS members have attended and participated in the Asian Microcirculation Society in Bangkok, Thailand; Bandung, Indonesia; Manila, Philippines, and Tokyo, Japan. CMS has also participated in the World Congress for Microcirculation in Munich (1996), Sydney (2001) and Milwaukee (2007).

In the third representatives' meeting in Beijing in June 2007, via the nomination by Prof. Xiu, Prof. Zhan Qimin was elected as the new President. The society now consists of 85 councils and 26 standing councils. CMS has started publishing the 'Journal of Chinese Microcirculation' in 1993 and has established an office within the Institute of Microcirculation, CAMS & PUMC.

Under the recommendation and authority of the Asian Microcirculatory Society, CMS did host the 7th Asian Congress for Microcirculation in Tai'An, Shandong.

In September 6-8, 2013, Prof Jing-Yan Han, the President of ICM-PCMCAIM did organise the 13th Annual Conference of the Professional Committee for
, Chinese Association of Integrative Medicine  in Beijing, China.

Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences and Peking Union Medical College

National level comprehensive research institute of medical sciences in China, comprises of eighteen research institutes, five branches, six affiliated hospitals and five colleges throughout China. These affiliations are highly reputable scientific research and educational institutes as well as medical services providers. Many of renowned scientists and professors in CAMS have made significant contributions to the medicine and science.

Peking Union Medical College (PUMC), one of the five CAMS affiliations, is among the most selective medical colleges in China. The China Medica Board of the Rockefeller Foundation in 1917 modeled the PUMC after Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine following the recommendations of the Flexner Report which set the foundation of modern Medical Education in the United States. PUMC has always emphasized the highest medical education with a relative small number of medical students each year. Under the combined management system of CAMS and PUMC, medical students have enjoyed the exceptional opportunity of education with the step-up model starting with four year basic sciences education, four year advanced medical sciences training with designated supervisors during the whole eight school years. PUMC not only has nurtured many highly trained physicians and scientists, but has also trained large numbers of nursing staff in leadership positions throughout China. The graduate education in PUMC started in 1954. For many years, PUMC has cultivated enourmous excellent clinicians, medical students, medical educators, nurses as well as management staff in different levels. CAMS/PUMC has always played an important role in China's medical education and research. For better integration with the world, PUMC has merged with Tsinghua University in September 2006.

Institute of Microcirculation, CAMS & PUMC

The Institute of Microcirculation was founded in 1984. It is the National Key Laboratory in China. The institute consists of 5 reseach sections with 16 faculty and staff members, 38 invited adjunct professors from abroad and is engaged in clinical and experimental investigation on microcirculatory disturbance in cerebral cardiovascular diseases and malignant tumors. On the main campus of CAMS and PUMC, an international standard scientific building was funded by the State Planning Commission of China for this institute. The institute is well equipped with advanced experimental instruments, including the intravital microscopic system with digital image processing and analysis system for microcirculatory observation in vivo and in vitro, the time lapse video recording system for long term dynamic analysis of endothelial and myocardial cells behaviour, the system for clinical microcirculatory examination and a set of molecular methodology and techniques.

A project with the Chinese Academy of Sciences, titled "Medical Design and Clinical Application of Optical Protein Chips" was started in 2002. This project is supported by the "National Foundation of Knowledge Innovative Project" (KJCX1-SW-07). Owing to certain achievement of the ongoing research, a new grant is supported by the National Ministry of Science and Technology under the topic "Study on Technical Standardization of Protein Chips". The long-term successful collaborative research between this institute and Karolinska Institute, Sween was proved as an offical Sino-Swedish science and technology cooperative project. Scientific collaborative agreements with the University of California, San Diego (UCSD) were also started in this institute.

Professor Rui-Juan Xiu, Director of the institute, is the founder and President of the Chinese Society of Microcirculation and the Asian Union for Microcirculation. She is member of the International Liaison Committee for Microcirculation and member of the Science-Technology Section in CPPCC. She was Vice President of CAMS and Vice Chancellor of PUMC from 1985 till 1993. She is a tutor of graduated and Ph.D. students. She is the General Editor of 'Chinese Journal of Microcirculation' and member of editorial boards for five international journals. She is awardee of the "Golden Pen" Award issued by the "National Medical Journal of China".

The institute had received the "National Award for Invention", "State Award for Science and Technology Progress", several awards for scientific achievements issued by the Ministry of Public Health, and 18 international academic awards.